After FC HTTU Ashgabat of Turkmenistan winning the last edition of the competition an era came to an end with the dominance mostly of Central Asian (former Soviet republics) teams in the tournamrnt except for a short period of Sotuh Asian an South East Asian teams claiming the trophy.
Central Asian teams who came from the former Soviet republics as Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan and Turkmenistan won the tournament 8 times.

Regar TadAZ of Tajikistan in 2005, 2008 and 2009, Dordoi Dynamo of Kyrgyzstan in 2006 and 2007, FC Istiklol Dushanbe of Tajikistan claiming the trophy again for Tajikistan in 2012 and then came the double for Tukrmenistan in 2013 for FC Balkan and this year for FC HTTU Ashgabat.

Dordoi have the record of reaching the final 5 consecutive years, from the inagural tournament in 2005 until 2010.

This are all the finals were Dordoi Dynamo played:
2005:Regar TadAZ vs Dordoi Dynamo
2006 Dordoi Dynamo vs Vakhsh (TJK)
2007 Dordoi Dynamo vs Nepal Police Club
2008 Regar TadAZ vs Dordoi Dynamo
2009 Regar TadAZ vs Dordoi Dynamo
2010 Yadanarbon (Myanmar) vs Dordoi Dynamo

TJK is the most successful country winning the tournament 4 times (Regar TadAZ: 3 titles and FC Istiklol 1 title)

Dordoi Dynamo is the 1st team who won the tournament 2 consecutive times(2006 and 2007) then came Regar TadAZ becaming the 2nd team who made the double in 2008 and 2009 and finally Turkmenistan won the competition 2 consecutive years with Balkan in 2010 and FC HTTU in 2014)

in 2010 Yadanarbon of Myanmar broke the Central Asian dominance winning the trophy for the 1st time for a club from South East Asia and in the following year for the 1st time were an All East Asian final with Taipower Company from Chinese Taipei and Phnom Penh Crown FC from Cambodia with Taipower winning the title for Chinese Taipei for the 1st time and making history as the 1st club from East Asia to win the tournament.

in 2012 Palestine clubs were making their debut in the competition and Al Amari were the surprise of the tournament making an amazing campaign reaching the final vs FC Istiklol Dushanbe, Istiklol won the tournament at home soil at the Republican Stadium in Dushanbe in an exciting final vs the Palestine club who fought until the end, this marked a milestone for Palestinian football because it was the 1st time that a club making their 1st ever appearance at an Asian club competition reached the final.

Pakistan teams evolved from years in the competition with WAPDA reaching the final stage in 2009 and becoming the 1st Pakistani club to reach the semifinal of any Asian club, a huge milestone for Pakistani football at that time. then came KRL reaching the final stage in 2012 and in the following year reaching the final played in Malaysia where they lose vs Balkan of Turkmenistan.

This final edition marked a interesting situation in where almost all clubs who reached the final stage were making their 1st ever appearance in the competition except for FC HTTU who had previous experience in 2010, Manang of Nepal and Mongolian champions Erchim, with most notable participation of Rimyongsu flying the flag for DPR Korea and reaching the final who was played in Sri Lanka where they lose vs FC HTTU of Turkmenistan.

Clubs who were making the 1st ever appearance in the final stage were Sri Lanka Air Force(Sri Lanka), Sheikh Russel(Bangladesh),Rimyongsu(DPR Korea)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s